This prominent vantage point and strategic site was quickly recognised by the Normans, who built a huge timber fortress here by 1100 AD. Originally built by Robert de Toeni, (later known as Robert of Stafford), in the Norman period, Stafford Castle has dominated the local skyline for over 900 years.
In the years shortly after the Norman invasion of 1066, William the Conqueror is believed to have ordered defences to be built against a still hostile and rebellious native community. The fortunes of the castle and its owners, the Stafford family, fluctuated greatly.
The site itself extends to over 26 acres and consists of Keep, inner bailey, outer bailey, woodland, herb garden, visitor centre and car park. The Keep is open to the public during Visitor Centre opening hours.
The Visitor Centre has an audio visual display which tells the history of the castle; hands on items including arms, armour and costumes; a timeline to put the history of the castle into a national context; a display area with a changing programme of exhibitions and exhibits; and the opportunity to try your hand at coin minting and brass rubbing.
The Visitor Centre shop offers a wide range of gifts, souvenirs traditional toys and local crafts and we stock a large number of local history books. Also on sale are ice creams, chocolates and soft drinks.
Outside the centre visit the fragrant herb garden and discover what herbs were used for in the medieval period.
A full and exciting events programme includes the annual Stafford Festival Shakespeare production each summer. There is a school and group tour programme and occasional themed tours, talks and workshops.
April to October: Wed to Sun & Bank Holidays 11am to 4pm. The gates to the Castle grounds and car park will open at 7am and are closed at 8pm.
November to March: Sat and Sun only 11am to 4pm. The gates to the Castle grounds and car park will open at 7am and are closed at 6pm.